Saturday, Mar 17, 2012

Savage Gulf Marathon

Savage Gulf State Natural Area

Beersheba Springs, TN Marathon

This Event Took Place Sat. Mar 17, 2012


We are glad to be back at South Cumberland for the 2017 Savage Gulf Marathon!  This event is coordinated by The Friends of the South Cumberland (FSC). Proceeds go directly to improving South Cumberland State Park and supporting its park rangers.

The course will be the same as last year: Beginning and ending at the Stone Door Ranger Station, with 26.2 miles of the most brutal, unforgiving, rocky, steep terrain you could imagine in between.

Race is limited to the first 100 registrations.  To qualify, all entrants must have completed one marathon or longer race previously.  Seasoned runners earned DNFs last year...this is not the place to break into the sport.

Savage Gulf is a 14,357 acre State Natural Area that contains some of the most spectacular natural rock formations in Tennessee. Purchased by the state in 1973 to protect one of the last known stands of virgin timber in the Eastern United States, Savage Gulf has 55 miles of trails and ten primitive campsites. The Savage Gulf Ranger Station is the eastern access point to the Savage Gulf-Stone Door trail system that traverses the most rugged and scenic areas of the South Cumberland complex. The Stone Door Ranger Station is within the Savage Gulf area and is accessible off State Highway 56 near Beersheba Springs. It is named for the Great Stone Door, a 150-foot deep crevice at the crest of the Plateau. It is the western access for the Savage Gulf-Stone Door trails network.

The mission of the Friends of South Cumberland is conservation and preservation of the South Cumberland State Park which includes Savage Gulf State Natural Area and the Fiery Gizzard Trail. FSC conducts various educational and recreational programs throughout the area in addition to directly supporting the work of the park rangers.

Safety Notice

Please note that for the safety of all runners there is a 5 hour cut off at mile 18. All runners that have not reached the mile 18 aid station by 1:00pm will be located and escorted to the finish line by race volunteers.

Local time: 2:16 PM


Ask a Question

Top Performances